Kaikoura: Nature’s Seal Sanctuary

A quirky seaside town that’s reportedly overrun with tourists during the summer, Kaikoura was somewhere that had been recommended to us again and again by travellers. Famed primarily for its wildlife, the coast of Kaikoura is home to an impressive number of seals, whales and penguins. The best (and cheapest!) way to scout out the sea-life is is by taking a stroll around the towns peninsular, which sees you pass beaches home to great colonies of seals. Our plans for Kaikoura extended no further than the peninsular walk, which would fill the best part of a day nicely. As it turned out, however, one of us would have a lot more spare time than anticipated.  

Our arrival in Kaikoura coincided with the appearance of a painful swelling in my ankle, which gradually worsened during our first night until it was impossible to walk on. By the time we were due to embark on the peninsular walk, it was clear I wouldn’t be able to join Josh. So other than the five minute walk from the bus stop to our hostel, the most I saw of Kaikoura was the inside of our room. On the upside, it was a private room, as the hostel had generously upgraded us at no extra cost, meaning I was free to lounge in bed and abuse my free trial of Netflix to my hearts desire. 

Still, seeing the photos of Josh’s outing, which he described as one of the most beautiful walks he’d ever done, I was understandably gutted. Not only were the beaches stunning, they were positively littered with seals, playing in pairs and lolling around in the sunshine. Surprisingly territorial, Josh recounted the moment he came too close for one seals liking, and was reminded with a sharp growl to keep his distance. Being in such proximity sounded so amazing, my one year old self would have been squealing! (For those who don’t know, I had something of an obsession with seals at this age, including an army of about 30 fluffy toys). I half resented my decision to sit the walk out. But looking down at my bulging ankle, which was showing no signs of improving, I conceded a 4 hour walk was probably the last thing it needed. 

For the most part deserted during the winter months, perhaps Kaikoura can be added to the list of places we will revisit in the summer,  providing an opportunity for me to complete the walk, and for us to see the town at its thriving best.  

Leave a comment